Lathrop Football

Lathrop quarterback Jarren Littell scrambles in the pocket against Kodiak on Saturday, Sept. 18 at Lathrop High School. Photo courtesy of Mark and Kathy Moss

There’s still one more game left in the 2021 prep football season as the Lathrop Malemutes are slated to play the state championship this Saturday. The work everyone in the Railbelt Conference did this season has already been rewarded, however, on Tuesday.

The Railbelt announced their annual All-Conference football team on Tuesday. With three of the four teams being located in the Fairbanks area, it’s no surprise that Fairbanks dominated the list.

The Offensive Player of the Year was Lathrop quarterback Jarren Littell, Lathrop’s James Opp was the Defensive Player of the Year, and Lathrop’s Wyatt Nelson was lineman of the year. Lathrop head coach Luke Balash was named Coach of the Year while North Pole assistant Christopher Wentland was named Assistant Coach of the Year.

Littell was also named to the All-Conference first team as a quarterback along with seven of his teammates. Tyler Clooten (running back), Dean Silva (wide receiver), and Opp (fullback) all made it while four of the five offensive linemen came from Lathrop as well. Wyatt and Justice Nelson, Rick Davidge, and Cody Webb were the linemen.

North Pole made up the remainder of the first team offense. Running back Nic Clark, wide receiver Kaden Bostwick, tight end Gabriel Hollett, and lineman Ashton Edwin were the four Patriots selected.

The first team defense saw seven Malemutes selected. Both Wyatt and Justice Nelson were selected as linemen while Opp and Clooten made it as linebackers. Wayne Snowden (defensive line), Keegan Laughlin (linebacker), and Peyton George (defensive back) all made the team as well.

North Pole was next up with four selections to the first team. Bostwick and Clark made it as linebackers, Hollett made it as a defensive lineman and Devon Clark made it as a defensive back. Kodiak’s Chancen Rombawa and West Valley’s Kobe Amio both made the team as defensive backs.

The first team special teams unit was made up of Littell (kicker), Laughlin (punter) and George (returner) from Lathrop and Bostwick (long snapper) from North Pole.

North Pole dominated the second team All-Conference list. On offense, Clark mad it as the QB and was joined by six teammates. Camren Hyson (running back), Josh Dutra (wide receiver), Collin Drumhiller (wide receiver), McKinley Rhoades (lineman), Daniel Conley (lineman) and Ryley Roos (lineman).

Laughlin (tight end) and Snowden (lineman) were Lathrop’s two selections. Jho Halter Bigornia was Kodiak’s lone selection as a lineman while West Valley had two selections in Amio (running back) and Kody Helms (full back).

North Pole also led the way on the second team defense with six selections. Conley and Edwin made it as linemen while Hyson made it as a defensive back. Logan Bellmay (linebacker), Via Skipps (linebacker) and Korbin Wallace (defensive back) also made it for the Patriots.

Lathrop had three selections to the second team defense in Webb (lineman), Kayne Clayton (defensive back) and Earl Parker (defensive back). Kodiak’s Wyatt Buck (linebacker) and West Valley’s Cade Butler (lineman) were the other selections.

The second team special teams unit was North Pole kicker Caden Lindhag, Clark and Drumhiller from North pole as punter and returner, respectively, and Opp as long snapper.

The honorable mention offense had one West Valley player as Butler made it as a center. The remaining honorable mentions were Lathrop running back Andre’ Williams, Kodiak running back Joren Valdez, Kodiak wide receiver John Michael Ticman, Lathrop wide receivers Eddie Coleman and Kalvyn Bandith, Lathrop fullback Allan Samuel, North Pole lineman Ethan Frollo, and Kodiak lineman Mycus Fernandez.

Lathrop’s Williams made the honorable mention defense as a defensive back alone with Reece Walters of North Pole and Kodiak’s Frank Dorner. Rombawa was an honorable mention long snapper.

Elijah Deans of Lathrop was the first team utility player while West Valley’s Will Lowry-Sims was the second team selection.

Contact sports editor Hart Pisani at or 459-7530.

Contact sports editor Hart Pisani at or 459-7530.

Recommended for you