default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Wolfpack soccer teams use Senior Night boost to sweep Lathrop

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Sunday, May 20, 2012 12:06 am

FAIRBANKS—The West Valley boys and girls soccer teams tuned up for next week’s high school state tournaments by posting identical 1-0 victories against Lathrop Saturday night at West Valley.

A large crowd turned out for Senior Night activities and that gave the Wolfpack a boost as they prepare to play the top teams in the state next week.

In the boys game, Brayden DeWesse scored midway through the second half to give the Wolfpack their only goal.

The Lathrop defense was swinging the ball across the back line when West Valley’s Jacob Carson began applying pressure. DeWeese stepped in and intercepted a pass and chipped a shot over the Lathrop goalie to give the Wolfpack the win.

“Lathrop did us a service by playing really well,” said West Valley coach Howard Maxwell. “It was a pretty good battle with a big crowd and a lot of emotion.”

West Valley keeper Nick Frymueller made eight saves to preserve the victory.

Cody Shipman turned in a strong defensive game, returning to the lineup after an injury, Maxwell said.

West Valley, which finished the season 8-0 in conference play and 13-1 overall, honored seven seniors Saturday night — Alan Millington, Cody Shipman, Trevor Baker, Arthur Schweitzer, Chris Irwin, Tyler Brose and Odell Morton.

In the girls game, freshman Mickia Cenker scored the lone goal to give the Wolfpack the win and some momentum heading down to Anchorage.

No other details were available Saturday night.

No report

Results of Saturday’s games between the Hutchison Hawks and Eielson Ravens were not available at press time.

Conference honors

West Valley had five boys and four girls named to the All-Mid Alaska Conference teams announced Saturday.

The five Wolfpack boys honored were Alan Millington, Cody Shipman, Jacob Carson, Sterling Kuhl and Arthur Schweitzer.

Other players on the boys team were North Pole’s Garrett Wollman, Curtis Gelineau and Anthony Gibson, Lathrop’s Alan Riley, Conner Matheny and Luke Castellini and Hutchison’s Peter Shurr.

On the girls side, West Valley led the list of all-conference selections with Madison Ackiss, Jillian Phillips, Kira Lundgren and Sara Walling-Bell.

Lathrop’s Keri-lyn Fitzgerald, Ashley Locklear and Christine Angell were honored along with North Pole’s Tiffany Summers, Ashley Wilkes and Sheridan Culver and Hutchison’s Eleanor Veazey and Katie Hopper.

Contact the News-Miner sports department at 459-7581.

More about

More about


WEIO 2014

Madden Real Estate

Gubernatorial candidate, Bill Walker, is concerned that the state is in a $7 ...

Fairbanks born candidate for governor, Bill Walker asks, "Is Fairbanks better...

Wes Madden 2014 Ad #2 Fairbanks