After taking the top two spots in both the men’s and women’s classic races Sunday, the University of Alaska Anchorage Nordic ski team won its third straight Alaska Cup over the University of Alaska Fairbanks at Government Peak Recreation Area.

Mike Ophoff was the top men’s finisher for the Nanooks and third place overall. Ophoff finished Sunday’s 15K in 38 minutes and 15.8 seconds.

Logan Mowry and Tristan Sayre rounded out the top three for the UAF men. Mowry finished fifth with a time of 38:53.0 and Sayre finished seventh with a time of 39:34.0.

The UAF women were led by Mariel Pulles in their 10-kilometer classic race. Pulles crossed the line in third place with a time of 35:35.5. 

Anja Maijala finished second for the Nanooks and sixth overall with a 36:19.7. Hannah Deuling’s 37:11.9 was third best for the Nanooks and eighth best overall.

The winning team was calculated by adding together the top three times for the men and women in both the classic and freestyle competitions. 

The Seawolves finished with the top combined time in all categories.

The Nanooks next compete from Jan. 2-7 at the U.S. Cross Country Skiing National Championships in Houghton, Michigan.

Contact News-Miner sports writer Laura Stickells at 459-7530. Follow her on Twitter: @FDNMsports.