FAIRBANKS — One fan from each of the Central Collegiate Hockey Association’s 11 member schools has an opportunity to win a prize package for the final CCHA Championship Tournament in Detroit in March.

The CCHA and Fox Sports Detroit are conducting the Celebrate the Legacy Super Fan Contest as part of a tribute to the final season of the CCHA, which began in 1971.

“We think it’s important to honor the fans in each market as we celebrate the final season of the league,” Greg Hammaren, Fox Sports Detroit senior vice president and general manager, said Thursday in a CCHA press release.

The CCHA members are moving to different leagues next season as part of a realignment of NCAA Division I hockey that occured in 2011.

The Alaska Nanooks of the University of Alaska Fairbanks are going to the Western Collegiate Hockey Association along with fellow CCHA programs Ferris State, Northern Michigan, Lake Superior State and Bowling Green. The five CCHA members will join WCHA teams Alaska Anchorage, Michigan Tech, Minnesota State and Bemidji State.

CCHA schools Michigan, Ohio State and Michigan State are headed to the Big Ten Hockey Conference with Minnesota and Wisconsin of the WCHA and Penn State, which debuted this season as a Division I independent and is coached by Guy Gadowsky, who guided the Nanooks from 1999-2004.

Notre Dame is going to Hockey East next season. Miami (Ohio) and Western Michigan will be among the inaugural members of the National Collegiate Hockey Conference in 2013-14, joining six current WCHA teams — North Dakota, Nebraska-Omaha, Denver, Colorado College, Minnesota-Duluth and St. Cloud State.

Entry forms and contest rules for the CCHA Celebrate the Legacy Super Fan contest are available at the Fox Sports Detroit website (www.foxsportsdetroit.com/ccha/).

Fans can nominate a Super Fan by submitting an essay of 300 words or less that shows how their nominee passionately supports his or her favorite team on the ice and in the community. There also is an opportunity to include photo of your nominee that shows their school spirit.

Nominees must be at least 18 years old to enter.

“In addition to the league’s great players and coaches, a big part of what  has made the CCHA so special over the past 42 seasons has been the passion and enthusiasm of our fans,” CCHA commissioner Fred Pletsch stated in the release.

One Super Fan from each of the 11 CCHA schools receives:

• Hotel accommodations for March 22-23.

• Two tickets to the CCHA Awards Show at the Fox Theatre, including pre- and post-show food and non-alcoholic beverages.

• Two lower-bowl tickets for both semifinal games on March 23 at Joe Louis Arena and the same type of tickets for the championship game there on March 24.

• Two lanyards and admission to the Celebrate the Legacy CCHA Alumni VIP party at Cobo Hall on March 23.

• Food and non-alcoholic beverage vouchers valid at Joe Louis Arena for the semifinals and championship game.

• Two limited edition CCHA Celebrate the Legacy jerseys.

One Super Fan contest also will receive game tickets and hotel accomodations to the NCAA Frozen Four in Pittsburgh on April 11-13.

The Nanooks return to CCHA play with their annual New Year’s two-week road trip, visiting Michigan on Jan. 11-12 and Notre Dame on Jan. 18-19. Both Michigan games begin at 3:35 p.m. AST while the opener against Notre Dame takes place at 3:35 p.m.  and the series finale starts at 3:05 p.m.

Alaska’s next home action is against Northern Michigan on Jan. 25-26 at the Carlson Center, starting at 7:05 p.m. each day.