FAIRBANKS — The men’s sprint race of the ConocoPhillips Super Tour Finals in Anchorage came down to the wire and then some. 

After Andrew Newell won the sprint, Alaska Pacific University Nordic Ski Center protested the result, saying Newell had skied across former Lathrop skier Reese Hanneman’s skis.

After a review, Newell was suspended to sixth place, giving Hanneman the win. Hanneman, who trains with the APU Nordic Ski Center, finished the sprint in three minutes, 25.56 seconds.

Stratton Mountain School’s Benjamin Saxton finished second, 4.74 seconds behind Hanneman.

Former Alaska Nanooks skier Tyler Kornfield, who skies with Hanneman at APU, took third.

Alaska Nanooks junior and former Lathrop skier Logan Hanneman finished sixth in his semi-final heat. Logan is the brother of Reese.

Logan’s Nanooks teammates Max Olex, a senior, and Jonas Loeffler, a a junior, both competed but failed to make it out of the quarterfinals.

Anchorage’s Kikkan Randall won won the women’s sprint race in 3:51.60. Randall, who trains with the APU Nordic Ski Center, finished two seconds ahead of teammate Sadie Bjornsen.

Ida Sargent of Craftsbury Nordic Ski Club took third, 2.07 seconds behind Randall.

Fairbanks’ Becca Rorabaugh finished third in her quarterfinal heat but did not advance to the semi-finals.

West Valley’s Max Donaldson finished second in the junior men’s sprint race, just 0.77 seconds out of the first. APU nordic Ski Center’s John Farr won the race in 3:51.33.

Donaldson beat Farr in the semi-finals by 0.33 seconds.

Donaldson’s West Valley teammate Jonathan Koenig finished third in his semi-final but did not advance to the final.

Skiing resumes on Tuesday at Kinkaid Park with the 4x5K skate relay at 5 p.m. with the awards ceremony following at 6:45 p.m.

Contact sports reporter Tim O’Donnell at 459-7583. Follow him on Twitter: @FDNMSportsGuy.