Six University of Alaska Fairbanks Nanooks were among 66 Western Collegiate Hockey Association players named Tuesday as American Hockey Coaches Association/Krampade All-American Scholars.

Sophomore forward Max Newton was the only repeat selection from the Nanooks, UAF’s other honorees were sophomore forward Brennan Blaszczak, freshman forward Caleb Hite, senior defenseman Nikolas Koberstein, freshman defenseman Jordan Muzzillo and sophomore goaltender Tony Rehm.

The players honored had at least a 3.6 grade-point average and participated in 40% of their respective schools’ games, with exceptions for medical reasons and goaltenders.

Newton, from Vancouver, British Columbia, is a business administration major. It’s the same major for Kobertsein, from Barrhead, Alberta, and for Blaszczak (Troy, Michigan); Muzzillo (Capron, Illinois); and Rehm (Sun Prairie, Wisconsin).

Hite, from Grand Blanc, Michigan, is an accounting major.

John Teets, an Alabama Huntsville senior defenseman who graduated from Hutchison High School, also was among the AHCA/Krampade Division I All-American Scholars.

Alaska Anchorage led the WCHA with 11 players honored.

Among the Seawolves honored were sophomore defenseman Aaron McPheters, a former Fairbanks Ice Dog.

Hite and Teets also skated for the Ice Dogs, of the Tier II junior A-level  North American Hockey League.

Contact News-Miner sports editor Danny Martin at 459-7586. Follow him on Twitter: @newsminersports.