default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Obermeyer, Gilbertson set pace for Monroe basketball teams

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, January 10, 2011 4:13 am | Updated: 1:55 pm, Wed Dec 26, 2012.

FAIRBANKS — Monroe Catholic’s Demi Obermeyer and Shayne Gilbertson earned Most Valuable Player awards after the Rams swept the team titles in the Golden Heart Classic high school basketball tournament hosted by Lathrop.

Obermeyer led the Rams to victories against the West Valley junior varsity, Ketchikan and Lathrop as Monroe finished the tournament with a 3-0 record. Monroe defeated Lathrop in overtime in the final game of the girls tournament Saturday night.

Other players on the girls all-tournament team were Monroe’s Emily Anderson, Ketchikan’s Bayley Lindgren and Erin Doherty, Lathrop’s Alicia Brawley and West Valley JV’s Jasmine Bourne.

Lathrop’s Brooke Lizotte won the girls 3-point shooting contest and Ketchikan’s Shiree Sells was the free throw contest champion.

Gilbertson helped the Monroe Catholic boys notch wins against Angoon, Thunder Mountain and Lathrop. The Rams beat the host Malemutes 66-26 Saturday night to complete the tournament with a 3-0 record. The Rams are now 6-0 on the season.

Monroe’s John Michaels and Ladarius Milton earned all-tournament team honors along with Tyler Hamilton of Lathrop, Keith Ainsworth of Thunder Mountain and William Silva of Angoon.

Silva won the free-throw contest, and Monroe’s Dan Ellis was the 3-point champion.

Lathrop returns to action Tuesday night at North Pole in Mid Alaska Conference play. Monroe Catholic entertains Delta Junction on Thursday in Aurora Conference action.

Contact the News-Miner sports department at 459-7581.

Connect with us