default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Brent Sass wins Iditarod Rookie of the Year

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, March 15, 2012 11:42 am | Updated: 6:09 am, Wed Jan 30, 2013.

ANCHORAGE, Alaska - Brent Sass was the first rookie to arrive in Nome in the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race and therefore is this year's Rookie of the Year.

Sass arrived at the finish line of the more than 1,000-mile race on Wednesday at 11:25 a.m.

The 32-year-old musher from Eureka, Alaska, is not new to mushing. Since his first race in 2006, he's placed in more than 20 races. Sass has run the 1,000-mile Yukon Quest five times. His best finish was fourth in 2011.

Brent Sass's father, Mark Sass, has spent the last three months cheering on his son at various checkpoints in several races, including the Yukon Quest and the Iditarod. He says he's a recreational musher and loves to celebrate his son's accomplishments.

Twenty-five-year-old Dallas Seavey won this year's race.

Twenty-three mushers had reached the Burled Arch finish line in Nome as of 11:30 a.m. today. Among them were four-time champion Martin Buser and his son, Rohn, in a photo finish for 18th and 19th place. Official standings put Rohn in 1 second before his father,

Four-time champion Lance Mackey crossed the finish line in 22nd place and veteran Jodi Bailey of Chatanika was 23rd. Sixty-six mushers started the race March 4 and 30 are still on the trail.

© 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about


WEIO 2014

Stanley Nissan Service

Stanley Nissan service

Madden Real Estate

Bill Walker, candidate for governor, was born in Fairbanks before statehood. ...

Gubernatorial candidate, Bill Walker, is concerned that the state is in a $7 ...

2014 Iditarod Start Order

Bib No. 1 is honorary

2) Curt Perano, Central Otago, New Zealand

3) Paige Drobny, Fairbanks, Alaska

4) Gus Guenther, Clam Gulch, Alaska

5) Dan Kaduce, Chatanika, Alaska

6) Mitch Seavey, Seward, Alaska

7) Michael Williams, Jr., Akiak, Alaska

8) Yvonne DabAlaskak, Oslo, Norway

9) Newton Marshall, St. Anne, Jamaica

10) Aliy Zirkle, Two Rivers, Alaska

11) Richie Diehl, Aniak, Alaska

12) Tommy Jordbrudal, Longyearbyen, Norway

13) Kelly Maixner, Big Lake, Alaska

14) Dallas Seavey, Willow, Alaska

15) Michelle Phillips, Tagish, Yukon, Canada

16) DeeDee Jonrowe, Willow, Alaska

17) Jeff King, Denali, Alaska

18) Monica Zappa, Kasilof, Alaska

19) Allen Moore, Two Rivers, Alaska

20) Scott Janssen, Anchorage, Alaska

21) Christian Turner, Karratha, WA, Australia

22) Robert Sorlie, Hurdal, Norway

23) Aaron Burmeister, Nome, Alaska

24) Ellen Halverson, Wasilla, Alaska

25) Nathan Schroeder, Chisholm, MN

26) Charley Bejna, Addison, IL

27) Jessie Royer, Darby, MT

28) Cim Smyth, Big Lake, Alaska

29) Nicolas Petit, Girdwood, Alaska

30) Rick Casillo, Willow, Alaska

31) Lev Shvarts, Willow, Alaska

32) Linwood Fiedler, Willow, Alaska

33) Karin Hendrickson, Wasilla, Alaska

34) Justin Savidis, Willow, Alaska

35) Paul Gebhardt, Kasilof, Alaska

36) Martin Buser, Big Lake, Alaska

37) Jake Berkowitz, Big Lake, Alaska

38) Jim Lanier, Chugiak, Alaska

39) Jason Mackey, Wasilla, Alaska

40) Jan Steves, Edmonds, WA

41) Lisbet Norris, Willow, Alaska

42) Cindy Gallea, Wykoff, MN

43) Peter Kaiser, Bethel, Alaska

44) Mats Pettersson, Kiruna, Sweden

45) John Dixon, Fairbanks, Alaska

46) Cindy Abbott, Irvine, CA

47) Joar Leifseth Ulsom, Mo i Rana, Norway

48) Travis Beals, Seward, Alaska

49) Ramey Smyth, Willow, Alaska

50) Marcelle Fressineau, Whitehorse, YT, Canada

51) Ray Redington, Jr., Wasilla, Alaska

52) Anna Berington, Kasilof, Alaska

53) John BAlaskaer, Kotzebue, Alaska

54) Ralph Johannessen, Dagali, Norway

55) Elliot Anderson, Big Lake, Alaska

56) Kristy Berington, Kasilof, Alaska

57) Matt Failor, Willow, Alaska

58) Hans Gatt, Whitehorse, YT, Canada

59) Karen Ramstead, Perryvale, AB, Canada

60) Alex Buetow, Fairbanks, Alaska

61) Hugh Neff, Tok, Alaska

62) Danny Seavey, Seward, Alaska

63) Katherine Keith, Kotzebue, Alaska

64) Robert Bundtzen, Anchorage, Alaska

65) Ken Anderson, Fairbanks, Alaska

66) Mike Ellis, Two Rivers, Alaska

67) Wade Marrs, Wasilla, Alaska

68) Mike Santos, Cantwell, Alaska

69) Abbie West, Two Rivers, Alaska

70) Sonny Lindner, Two Rivers, Alaska

Connect with us