West Valley Wolfpack

Kiara Kondrak came to Anchorage’s Alaska Club East on Friday as a Mid Alaska Conference tennis runner-up.

Today, the West Valley High School player gets the chance to be a state champion.

Kondrak, in an all-MAC matchup, defeated Lathrop’s Helen Wharton 6-3, 6-0 in a girls singles semifinal of the Alaska School Activities Association/First National Bank Alaska Tennis State Championships.

Kondrak lost to Wharton two weeks ago in the MAC girls singles final at the Dan Ramras Community Tennis Courts in Fairbanks.

Kondrak plays for the state title at 2 p.m. today against top-seeded Emilee Groth, of Chugiak. Groth advanced after a 6-0, 6-1 win over Juneau-Douglas’ Anna Dale in Friday night’s other girls semifinal.

Wharton, the two-time defending MAC champion, faces Dale in the third- and fifth-place match at 10:15 a.m. today.

Kondrak, Wharton and Luke Millam, also of the Lathrop Malemutes, were the MAC’s only players to advance to the semifinal Friday at the state tournament. Wharton and Kondrak met Friday night in an all-MAC semifinal at the Alaska Club East.

Wharton and Kondrak advanced to the semifinals after winning quarterfinals matches. Each player started the tournament with byes.

Wharton won 6-2, 6-0 over South Anchorage’s Mya Robinson and Kondrak posted a 6-1, 6-4 upset of third-seeded Sophia Green, of West Anchorage, in their quarterfinal.

Millam lost 6-0, 6-1 to top-seeded Charlie Rush, of West Anchorage, in a boys singles semifinal Friday night.

The Millam winner takes on West Anchorage’s Alex Sergiacome in the third-place match at 10:15 a.m. today.  Sergiacome lost 6-3, 6-0 to third-seeded Gariel Portal, of South Anchorage in the other semifinals.

Millam won twice to get to the semifinal round.

He took a 6-2, 6-4 decision over Kevin Koolstra, of Juneau-Douglas, in a first-round contest and downed Colony’s Grant Freeman 6-2, 6-3 in a quarterfinal.

West Valley’s Cole Neal, the MAC boys singles runner-up, has a chance of playing today for fourth place.

Neal meets Koolstra in a consolation semifinal at 8 a.m. today. The consolation winners play in the fourth- and sixth-place match at 11:30 a.m.

Neal had a first-round bye and lost 6-0, 6-0 to Rush in a quarterfinal Friday.

None of the MAC doubles teams reached the semifinals.

The Hutchison Hawks’ Sophia Squires and Isaiah Moore had a first-round bye and lost 6-0, 6-1 to top seeds Stephen Nelson and Carter Kilkenny, of South, in a quarterfinal.

The Hawks duo plays Kodiak’s Ila Abad and Hirome Kageyama in a consolation semifinal at 10:15 a.m. today.

The Monroe Catholic Rams’ Erin Hendricks and Oliver Pender, the MAC champions, will be play in the other consolation semifinal at 10:15.

Hendricks and Pender, after a first-round bye, lost 6-2, 6-4 to Dimond’s Averyl Cobb and Soljin Choi.

The mixed doubles fourth-place match is set for 12:45 p.m.

MAC boys doubles champions Gage Hale and  Ryan Thomas, of Lathrop, lost 6-1, 6-0 to second-seeded Max Garnett and Ben Broyles, of Service.

The Malemutes duo was eliminated after a 6-2, 6-2 loss to Kodiak’s Max Pyles and Josh Barnett.

West Valley Wolfpack teammates Axton Siekmann and Kade Rowland, who came to the state tournament as alternates after placing third in the MAC tournament, lost in three sets — 6-3, 3-6, 1-0 — to Juneau-Douglas’ William Smoker and Will Rehfeldt.

Siekmann and Rowland replaced MAC runners-up Owen Averett and Fletcher Burnett, of Lathrop, who aren’t participating in the tournament.

Siekmann and Rowland play in the consolation semifinal round at 9:15 a.m. today.

The boys doubles fourth-place match is scheduled for 12:30 p.m. today.

Both MAC girls doubles — champions Jordan Dick and Samantha Stark, of West Valley, and Ashley Plys and Hannah Knott, of Lathrop — are playing in the consolation semifinals, which start at 9:15 a.m. today. The division’s fourth-place match is slated for 12:30 p.m.

Dick and Stark, after a first-round bye, lost 6-1, 6-0 to Dimond’s top-seeded pair Layna Debenham and Kate Debenham.

Plys and Knott were defeated 4-6, 6-0, 1-0 by Juneau-Douglas’ Olivia Moore and Jaymie Collman.