The champion West Valley Wolfpack had four players honored and Jordan Malave, from runner-up Wasilla, received the MVP honor for the Railbelt Conference All-Tournament Softball Team.

The all-tournament selections, MVP and good sport team were announced after Friday afternoon’s Railbelt championship game, which West Valley won 8-0 over Wasilla at the South Davis Complex. 

The conference’s five head coaches voted for the all-tournament and good sport teams, and Malave as MVP. 

“Personally, it’s an honor,” Malave, a senior shortstop, said Friday. “I work really hard every day just to better myself and help my team out.”

The Wolfpack had three first-team all-tournament selections — Kristen Abramowicz, Kenya Pulgarin and Jadyn Fraser.

Wasilla’s Jordan Hull also was voted as a first-team selection with Lathrop’s Jasmine King and three Colony Knights — Alyssa Oswald, Danyel Finley and Brookelynne Helms.

Kendra Michaelis was West Valley’s only player on the all-tournament second team.

Four Palmer Moose — Janie Besse, Sally Carr, Dani Farley and Rachel Farley — were chosen for the second team, which also was comprised of Wasilla teammates Courtney Ham and Kendall Walters, Lathrop’s Lathrop’s Kaylee Stier and Colony’s Hailey Welcome.

The good sports team was comprised of Palmer’s Aria Beames, Lathrop’s Hannah Hackett, West Valley’s Traci Mee, Wasilla’s Mia Pokryfki and Colony’s Josie Rockefeller.

West Valley and Wasilla also advanced to the Alaska School Activities Association/First National Bank Alaska Softball State Championships on Friday and Saturday at the Cartee Complex in Anchorage.

Contact News-Miner sports editor Danny Martin at 459-7586. Follow him on Twitter: @newsminersports.