default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Monroe Catholic repeats as 3A Alaska high school basketball champions

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, March 23, 2013 6:14 pm | Updated: 5:46 am, Mon Mar 25, 2013.

FAIRBANKS—The Monroe Catholic boys captured the Class 3A state basketball title for the second straight year, defeating the Anchorage Christian School Lions 60-52 in the March Madness Alaska championship game on Saturday afternoon at Sullivan Arena in Anchorage.

The Rams bolted to a 30-18 lead at halftime, but Anchorage Christian roared back to cut the deficit to 42-41 with less than three minutes remaining in the game.

That’s when the Rams went on an 8-0 run triggered by a David Stepovich three-pointer to stretch the lead back to 50-41. Anchorage Christian made baskets and Monroe Catholic made free throws down the stretch until the final buzzer went off.

Stepovich finished with 19 points and Scooter Bynum had 16. Bynum also had four steals. Tyler Wells had seven points and eight rebounds, while Jalon McCullough contributed eight points to the winning effort.

Bynum, Wells and McCullough were named to the all-tournament team.

Jalen Terry led ACS with 18 points and Calvin Hofffman had 14.

Meanwhile, the Lathrop boys finished fourth in the Class 4A tournament with a 58-41 win against the Palmer Moose at the University of Alaska Anchorage Wells Fargo Sports Complex.

Lathrop outscored Palmer 25-15 in the fourth quarter to break open a tight game.

Tremon Washington led the Malemutes with 20 points, while Kyle Carlson had 11 and Gabriel Cunningham tallied 10. Everett Green contributed eight points and nine rebounds to the winning effort.

Earlier Saturday, the Hutchison Hawks finished third in the girls Class 3A state tournament and the Lathrop Malemutes placed fifth in the girls 4A competition.

The Hawks defeated the Sitka Wolves 46-24 in the girls 3A third-place game. The Malemutes lost a 47-32 contest to the Colony Knights in the fourth-place game.

Hutchison outscored Sitka 27-12 in the second half to win going away.

Mimi Wood, the Class 3A Player of the Year, closed out her career scoring 18 points, grabbing five rebounds and recording seven steals  to lead the way for the Hawks.

Elly Veazey added seven points and dished out three assists for Hutchison, while Kiana Edwards and Alyson Yingling tallied six points apiece.

Sid Riggs led Sitka with six points, all from the free throw line.

Colony jumped on Lathrop early, outscoring the Malemutes 14-6 in the first quarter, and never looked back.

Freshman Ruthy Hebard led the Malemutes with 17 points, eight rebounds and seven blocked shots. Jasmine White added 13 points and three steals for the Malemutes. Shakira Shaw scored Lathrop’s other two points.

Mary Klapperich led Colony with 14 points.

Contact the News-Miner sports department at 459-7581.

More about

More about

More about


WEIO 2014

Bill Walker, candidate for governor, was born in Fairbanks before statehood. ...

Stanley Nissan Service

Stanley Nissan service

Wes Madden 2014 Ad #2 Fairbanks


Find Yourself

You're ready for something new. New challenges, new places, new adventures. E...

Connect with us