You are the owner of this article.
News-Miner Editorial

Keep up the pressure: Urge these lawmakers to override the governor’s vetoes

News-Miner opinion: Wednesday is override vote day in Juneau, where a majority of the state’s legislators are meeting. Members of the House and Senate agreed to meet in joint session on that day to consider overriding Gov. Mike Dunleavy’s veto of more than $400 million from the budget approved by the Legislature in June.

The gathering in Juneau isn’t of the whole Legislature, though. A much smaller number is meeting in the gymnasium of a middle school in Wasilla, the site chosen by Gov. Dunleavy when he called lawmakers back into special session to resolve the amount of this year’s Alaska Permanent Fund dividend.

The situation is tumultuous and has several moving parts. The outcome? Who knows.

The Alaska Constitution gives the Legislature five days from the start of a regular or special session in which to override a governor’s veto. Overriding an appropriations veto requires a vote of three-fourths of the Legislature, or 45 votes. The Juneau assemblage, which rejected the governor’s call to meet in Wasilla, doesn’t consist of 45 legislators, so an override can’t succeed unless the group attracts some of those who are in Wasilla. The Juneau contingent does have enough members to constitute a quorum, however, so it can conduct some legislative business. And the Wasilla group? It doesn’t consist of enough lawmakers to do anything, so it didn’t actually get started.

Alaskans must continue to pressure their legislators, especially those in Wasilla, to override the vetoes.

Most of the Interior’s legislators support an override of the governor’s vetoes, especially of the potentially devastating reduction of $135 million of the University of Alaska’s budget. That’s 41% of the state’s general fund contribution to the university system.

Below are the names and contact emails and phone numbers of legislators at the Wasilla session, where support for the governor and his vetoes is prevalent. Two Interior legislators are there: Reps. Tammie Wilson of North Pole and Dave Talerico of Healy.

• Rep. Ben Carpenter, R-Nikiski

Toll-Free: 800-469-3779

Email: Representative.Ben.Carpenter@akleg.gov

• Rep. David Eastman, R-Wasilla

Toll-Free: 800-468-2186

Email: Representative.David.Eastman@akleg.gov

• Rep. Sharon Jackson, R-Eagle River

Toll-Free: 877-460-3783

Email: Representative.Sharon.Jackson@akleg.gov

• Rep. Delena Johnson, R-Palmer

Toll-Free: 866-465-4958

Email: Representative.DeLena.Johnson@akleg.gov

• Rep. Gabrielle LeDoux, R-Anchorage

Toll-Free: 800-689-4998

Email: Representative.Gabrielle.LeDoux@akleg.gov

• Rep. Kelly Merrick, R-Eagle River

Toll-Free: 800-861-5688

Email: Representative.Kelly.Merrick@akleg.gov

• Rep. Mark Neuman, R-Big Lake

Toll-Free: 800-505-2678

Email: Representative.Mark.Neuman@akleg.gov

• Rep. Lance Pruitt, R-Anchorage

Toll-Free: 888-478-3438

Email: Representative.Lance.Pruitt@akleg.gov

• Rep. Sara Rasmussen, R-Anchorage

Toll-Free: 866-465-3892

Email: Representative.Sara.Rasmussen@akleg.gov

• Rep. George Rauscher, R-Sutton

Toll-Free: 888-465-4859

Email: Representative.George.Rauscher@akleg.gov

• Rep. Josh Revak, R-Anchorage

Toll-Free: 888-269-3879

Email: Representative.Josh.Revak@akleg.gov

• Rep. Laddie Shaw, R-Anchorage

Toll-Free: 866-465-4945

Email: Representative.Laddie.Shaw@akleg.gov

• Rep. Colleen Sullivan-Leonard, R-Wasilla

Toll-Free: 800-782-4833

Email: Representative.Colleen.Sullivan-Leonard@akleg.gov

• Rep. David Talerico, R-Healy

Toll-Free: 800-491-4527

Email: Representative.Dave.Talerico@akleg.gov

• Rep. Cathy Tilton, R-Chugiak/Mat-Su

Toll-Free: 800-342-2199

Email: Representative.Cathy.Tilton@akleg.gov

• Rep. Sarah Vance, R-Homer

Toll-Free: 800-665-2689

Email: Representative.Sarah.Vance@akleg.gov

• Rep. Tammie Wilson, R-North Pole

Toll-Free: 800-860-4797

Email: Representative.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov

• Sen. Mia Costello, R-Anchorage

Toll-Free: 800-773-4968

Email: Senator.Mia.Costello@akleg.gov

• Sen. Shelley Hughes, R-Palmer

Toll-Free: 800-565-3743

Email: Senator.Shelley.Hughes@akleg.gov

• Sen. Peter Micciche, R-Soldotna

Toll-Free: 800-964-5733

Email: Senator.Peter.Micciche@akleg.gov

• Sen. Laura Reinbold, R-Eagle River

Toll-Free: 800-770-3822

Email: Senator.Lora.Reinbold@akleg.gov

• Sen. Mike Shower, R-Wasilla

Toll-Free: 877-465-6601

Email: Senator.Mike.Shower@akleg.gov

• Sen. David Wilson, R-Wasilla

Toll-Free: 800-862-3878

Email: Senator.David.Wilson@akleg.gov

The Daily News-Miner encourages residents to make themselves heard through the Opinion pages. Readers' letters and columns also appear online at newsminer.com. Contact the editor with questions at letters@newsminer.com or call 459-7574.

If you're interested in submitting a Letter to the Editor, click here.

Guidelines

The Daily News-Miner encourages residents to make themselves heard through the Opinion pages. Readers' letters and columns also appear online at newsminer.com. Contact the editor with questions at letters@newsminer.com or call 459-7574.

Community Perspective

Send Community Perspective submissions by mail (P.O. Box 70710, Fairbanks AK 99707) or via email (letters@newsminer.com). Submissions must be 500 to 750 words. Columns are welcome on a wide range of issues and should be well-written and well-researched with attribution of sources. Include a full name, email address, daytime telephone number and headshot photograph suitable for publication (email jpg or tiff files at 150 dpi.) You may also schedule a photo to be taken at the News-Miner office. The News-Miner reserves the right to edit submissions or to reject those of poor quality or taste without consulting the writer.

Letters to the editor

Send letters to the editor by mail (P.O. Box 70710, Fairbanks AK 99707), by fax (907-452-7917) or via email (letters@newsminer.com). Writers are limited to one letter every two weeks (14 days.) All letters must contain no more than 350 words and include a full name (no abbreviation), daytime and evening phone numbers and physical address. (If no phone, then provide a mailing address or email address.) The Daily News-Miner reserves the right to edit or reject letters without consulting the writer.

Submit your news & photos

Let us know what you're seeing and hearing around the community.