default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Olson wins Senate District T

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, November 8, 2012 12:11 am | Updated: 11:55 am, Mon Jan 21, 2013.

Sen. Donny Olson, D-Golovin, cruised to a wide margin of victory for re-election for his third term representing northern Alaska.

With 98.4 percent of precincts reporting in Senate District T as of Wednesday night, Olson took 76.86 percent of 8,515 votes counted.

His Republican challenger, Allen Minish, garnered just 22.55 percent of the vote.

District T is a massive district covering the Seward Peninsula, northwest Alaska, the North Slope and the northern and eastern Interior.

As one of the Senate’s Democrats from the Bush, Olson could be a candidate to join the Senate Republican majority that was announced on Wednesday. Olson, as well as Sen. Lyman Hoffman, D-Bethel, have joined Republicans in the past.

The two Democratic representatives within Olson’s district skated to election unopposed on Tuesday. Rep. Neal Foster, D-Nome, ran unopposed for House District 39, which covers the northern Interior and wraps around the Fairbanks area to pick up the eastern Interior.

In District 40, which covers northwest Alaska and the North Slope, Benjamin Nageak ran unopposed to replace the retiring Rep. Reggie Joule, D-Kotzebue.

Both Foster and Joule had caucused with Republicans in the House.

Contact staff writer Matt Buxton at 459-7544 or follow him on Twitter: @FDNMpolitics.

More about

More about


WEIO 2014

Fairbanks born candidate for governor, Bill Walker asks, "Is Fairbanks better...

Gubernatorial candidate, Bill Walker, is concerned that the state is in a $7 ...

Find Yourself

You're ready for something new. New challenges, new places, new adventures. E...

Stanley Nissan Service

Stanley Nissan service