City Council

With a limit of 103 people, the council chambers quickly reached capacity on Monday night while the council heard testimony, debated and amended an ordinance creating equal-rights protections for LGBTQ individuals. Those not able to enter the chambers filled hallways throughout City Hall and listened to a live stream of the proceedings. Feb. 25, 2019. 

The race for local government is gearing up, with a Monday deadline to file for candidacy in the upcoming municipal election.

Seats on Fairbanks City Council, Fairbanks North Star Borough Assembly, the Board of Education and North Pole City Council are up for election this year, as well as the position of Fairbanks city mayor.

There are now four candidates vying for a seat on borough assembly. Mindy O’Neall, Jeffrey Rentzel, Lachlan Gillispie and Savannah Fletcher have all filed to run for Seat C, which Assemblyman Andrew Gray resigned from earlier this year.

Assemblyman Geoffry Wildridge has filed for reelection to Seat B, which he was appointed to this year after the departure of former assemblywoman Angela Major. Michael LaDouceur has filed to run for the same seat.

Assemblyman and Presiding Officer Matt Cooper has also filed for reelection to the seat he currently holds, Seat I. Cooper will be running against Zachary Floyd.

Seat B is currently held by Assemblyman Shaun Tacke, who is running uncontested as of Friday afternoon.

Meanwhile, the school board has four people running for a seat.

Matthew Sampson and Kimba Manning have each filed to run for Seat C, currently held by board member Sharon McConnell. Board member Allyson Lambert has filed for reelection to Seat D, for which Jennifer Luke has also filed for candidacy.

The position of mayor of Fairbanks remains a three person race. Incumbent Jim Matherly has filed for reelection. Also in the running is Kathryn Dodge, who announced her bid for mayor in May, and Lakesha Jordan.

Councilwoman Valerie Therrien has filed for reelection to Fairbanks City Council Seat C, with Charles Foster III filing for the same seat. The other seat up for election, Seat D, has one candidate running uncontested thus far, Aaron Gibson.

In North Pole, where two City Council seats are up for election, Thomas McGhee remains the only person to have filed for candidacy this year.

Contact staff writer Kyrie Long at 459-7510. Follow her on Twitter: @FDNMlocal