Community editor and columnist Kris Capps is a longtime resident of Fairbanks and Denali Park. Contact her at, in the office at 459-7546 or by cell at 322-6334. Follow her on Twitter: @FDNMKris.

No One Left Behind

Winners of the 2019 No One Left Behind awards ceremony. Photo courtesy No One Left Behind.

A roomful of heroes were honored at the fourth annual No One Left Behind award ceremony.

Students with the Fairbanks North Star Borough School District and the Fairbanks Rescue Mission collaborate to make this special evening happen. The ceremony honors those who provide assistance during emergencies: firefighters, police officers, emergency medical technicians and dispatchers. The program is organized by members of the Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps (JROTC) at both North Pole and Lathrop high schools.

Here are the honorees:

Exemplary First Responder Awards

• Senior Airman Triston J. Allen, firefighter with the 354th Civil Engineer Squadron at Eielson Air Force Base. He responded to 47 aircraft, structure, hazardous material and medical emergencies, all with good outcomes.

• Tara Bird, dispatcher at University of Alaska Fairbanks Police Department. She is honored for her tireless dedication and countless hours at both the dispatch center and in support of local officers.

• Colin Field, firefighter with the University Fire Department. He serves as a mentor and his philanthropic endeavors set a positive example.

• Peyton E. Foy, senior airman with the 354th Security Forces Squadron, Eielson Air Force Base. She expertly handled dispatch duties during multiple high-visibility incidents at Eielson Air Force Base.

• Dalton Gregg, firefighter/EMT, and Dave VanArsdall, driver/paramedic, both with the University Fire Department. They rescued a snowmachiner who broke through river ice.

• Cameron Huff, officer with UAF Police Department who has investigated many complicated cases during his career. With only six years of service, he is already a seasoned field training officer, armorer and range training officer.

• Daniel McFaul, staff sergeant with the 354th Security Forces Squadron at Eielson Air Force Base. He is honored for his leadership during multiple high-risk responses that affected fighter wing personnel. In 2008, in response to an active shooter report, he directed 80 emergency responders to seal 57 acres in less than two minutes’ arrival time.

• Bruce Milne, detective with the North Pole Police Department. Before joining North Pole police, he retired as a captain in the Marine Corps and also served 20-plus years as an FBI agent.

• Cory Nichols, staff sergeant with the 354th Medical Group at Eielson Air Force Base. He is the national registry site coordinator responsible for training and re-certifying 92 EMTs and fire personnel.

• Alexander Stewart, dispatcher with the 354th Civil Engineer Squadron at Eielson Air Force Base. He was key to the mitigation of 21 mission critical emergency work requests for which he relayed vital information to proper craftsmen.

• Team Award: Teresa Dobbs, Brennen Kraemer, Monroe Mize, Erika Roberts, dispatchers for Alaska State Troopers. Their training helped bring the dispatch center close to full staffing.


Outreach Awards

• Ryan Holland, Fairbanks Fire Department. His quick and calm responses are valuable in critical situations and he is an integral part of the EMS team. He recently delivered a baby in the ambulance.

• Baxter Mercer, Tri-Valley Volunteer Fire Department. He volunteers year-round as a driver, a mechanic, incident commander and more. He is also a regular blood donor.

• Mark Plummer, Salcha Fire and Rescue. His drive to help others, his determination to make things better and his dedication to the community all contributed to this award.

• Andrew Wixon, Fairbanks Police Department. He patrols Birch Hill Cemetery where he has had numerous contacts with vehicles and trespassers, after hours.

Youth Support Award

• Timothy Abbott, Alaska State Troopers (Wildlife). As hunter and boating safety instructor, he presents programs to local, rural and homeschool programs. He received a meritorious service commendation for providing shelter/medical treatment to an injured snowmachiner during an all-night blizzard on Eagle Summit.

Peer Recognition Awards

• Robert Nunley, Alaska State Troopers. He is recognized for his work in rural Alaska villages (Galena), to provide a firm caring presence while maintaining an active role model in the community.

• Matt Thompson, Salcha Fire and Rescue emergency medical services. He is recognized for his knowledge and professionalism ensuring fellow members are properly trained. He is a former combat medic.

• Jennifer Winkler, Fairbanks Fire Department. She is recognized for implementing systems that improved emergency responses. She also has a passion for mentoring and assists with planning and delivery of the recruit academy.

• Lee Bruce and Timothy Wolff, Alaska State Troopers. They are recognized for saving a woman who jumped into the Chena River.

Reach columnist/community editor Kris Capps at Call her at the office 459-7546. Follow her on Twitter:@FDNMKris.