FAIRBANKS — Nine mushers from the Interior were among the 62 people who took advantage of early registration for next year’s Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race.

Thirty-seven mushers signed up in person on Saturday at the Iditarod headquarters in Wasilla and 25 others entered by mail. The registration deadline is Dec. 1.

Three-time defending champion Dallas Seavey, of Willow, and his father, Mitch, of Seward, and this year’s runner-up, also are among the early entries.

The 44th edition of the 1,100-mile race is scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. March 6, 2016, with a ceremonial start on Fourth Avenue in downtown Anchorage. 

Depending on weather, the restart is set to take place March 7, 2016,  in Willow. A lack of snow in Southcentral this past winter forced the restart to be moved to Pike’s Landing in Fairbanks. The race also restarted from Pike’s in 2003.

 The Iditarod finishes on Front Street in Nome.

The early entries from the Interior are Jeff King of Denali Park; spouses Aliy Zirkle and  Allen Moore of Two Rivers; Brent Sass of Eureka; Mike Santos of Cantwell; Kristin Knight Pace of Healy; Cody Strathe of Fairbanks; Ryne Olson, of Two Rivers and Noah Burmeister of Nenana.

King is a four-time Iditarod champion and he placed seventh in this year’s race. Zirkle was runner-up from 2012-14 and placed fifth this year, while Moore came in 38th. 

Sass was disqualified from the race for carrying a device capable of two-way communication. Sass, who reached the Tanana checkpoint, was carrying an iPod Touch that had wireless Internet capability.

Sass won this year’s Yukon Quest International race, which runs 1,000 miles each February from Fairbanks to Whitehorse, Yukon.

Here are the entrants, in order of their draw position at the Start Banquet in March: 

1. Allen Moore, Two Rivers

2. Jan Steves, Willow

3. Mats Pettersson, Kiruna, Sweden

4. Patrick Beall, Norman, Oklahoma

5. Mike Santos, Cantwell

6. Ellen Halverson, Wasilla

7. Mitch Seavey, Seward

8. Jeff King, Denali

9. Rick Casillo, Big Lake

10. Lisbet Norris, Willow

11. Brent Sass, Eureka

12. Rob Cooke, Whitehorse, Yukon

13. Travis Beals, Seward

14. Dag Olsen, Hammerfest, Norway

15. Kristin Knight Pace, Healy

16. Martin Buser, Big Lake

17. Jodi Bailey, Chatanika

18. Cody Strathe, Fairbanks

19. Pete Kaiser, Bethel

20. Kelly Maixner, Big Lake

21. Wade Marrs, Willow

22. Cim Smyth, Big Lake

23. Dallas Seavey, Willow

24. Seth Barnes, Stockton, Alabama

25. Rohn Buser, Big Lake

26. DeeDee Jonrowe, Willow

27. Jim Lanier, Chugiak

28. Ryne Olson, Two Rivers

29. Joar Leifseth Ulsom, Willow

30. Mary Helwig, Willow

31. Jessie Royer, Darby, Montana

32. Becca Moore, Willow

33. Monica Zappa, Kasilof

34. Nicolas Petit, Girdwood

35. Anny Berington, Knik

36. Aliy Zirkle, Two Rivers

37. Scott Janssen, Anchorage

38. Robert Sorlie, Hurdal, Norway

39. Justin Savidis, Willow

40. Jason Campeau, Alberta, British Columbia

41. Richie Diehl, Aniak

42. Gwenn Bogart, Wasilla

43. Trent Herbst, Ketchum, Idaho

44. Noah Burmeister, Nenana

45. Sigrid Ekran, Alvdal, Norway

46. Kristin Bacon, Big Lake

47. Robert Redington, Wasilla

48. Nathan Schroeder, Chisholm, Minnesota

49. Michael Williams Jr., Akiak

50. Noah Pereira, Brockport, New York

51. Charley Bejna, Addison, Illinois

52. Tore Albrigtson, Tromso, Norway

53. Ed Stielstra, McMillan, Michigan

54. Ryan Redington, Knik

55. Robert Bundtzen, Anchorage

56. Michelle Phillips, Whitehorse, Yukon

57. Paul Gebhardt, Kasilof

58. Linwood, Fiedler, Willow

59. Ketiel Reitan, Kaktovik

60. Ray Redington, Knik

61. Larry Daugherty, Eagle River

62. Alan Eischens, Wasilla