default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Mining Hall of Fame to induct three pioneers in Anchorage

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, November 5, 2012 4:05 am | Updated: 1:59 pm, Wed Jan 16, 2013.

The Alaska Mining Hall of Fame plans to induct mining pioneers Merton Marston, Mattie Crosby and Toivo Rosander Thursday in conjunction with the Alaska Miners Association annual convention in Anchorage.

The three additions to the hall will bring the total membership of the hall of fame to 86 miners. The real value of the hall of fame is that it helps preserve mining history.

Chuck Hawley and Tom Bundtzen have researched most of the members of the hall and written profiles of their lives. Kurt Freeman has also done some and other historians have contributed as well.

The hall was founded 15 years ago and the board members are hoping to find a permanent home for it.

Bundtzen is the president of the hall. Before him, the effort was headed first by Earl Beistline and then by Mary Nordale.

Of the three new members, Marston was a leader in the Iditarod mining community in the early 20th Century, while Crosby was also a leader Iditarod and Flat. Known as "Tootsie," she grubstaked many miners and was a prominent businesswoman.

Rosander emigrated from Finland as a child and was a placer miner for about 70 years in western Alaska.



Stanley Nissan Service

Stanley Nissan service

Find Yourself

You're ready for something new. New challenges, new places, new adventures. E...

WEIO 2014

Bill Walker, candidate for governor, was born in Fairbanks before statehood. ...

Blue Loon - Papa Roach Live 2014 (Rev)

Blue Loon - Papa Roach Live 2014 (Revised)Fairbanks, AlaskaFriday, July 11th ...