default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Just 24 hours later, here's the new Senate Republican majority

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, November 7, 2012 6:14 pm | Updated: 2:03 pm, Wed Jan 16, 2013.

—Posted by Matt Buxton, staff writer

After a day of closed-door meetings, 11 Republicans gathered in Anchorage today to announce the tentative formation of a Republican majority in the 20-member state Senate. Sen. Charlie Huggins, the newly crowned Senate President, noted that he expects to see the majority grow, adding the two absent Republicans, and possibly add a few Democrats. 

Senate President - Sen. Charlie Huggins

Senate Majority - Sen. John Coghill

Rules Chair - Sen. Lesil McGuire

Finance Co-Chair - Sen. Kevin Meyer

Finance Co-Chair - Sen. Pete Kelly

Other members include:

Sen. Click Bishop, R-Fairbanks

Sen. Fred Dyson, R-Eagle River

Sen. Mike Dunleavy, R-Wasilla

Sen. Anna Fairclough, R-Eagle River

Sen. Peter Micchiche, R-Soldotna

Sen. Cathy Giessel, R-Anchorage

According to a press release, the group’s priorities are as follows.


Increasing oil production in Alaska and, in turn, the flow rate of the Trans-Alaska Pipeline.

Delivering affordable energy to Alaskans to their energy needs, as well as commercializing our vast supply of natural gas and exporting it to create a new economy in Alaska.

Develop sustainable capital and operating budgets for current and future generations


Declining Alaskan salmon stocks

Graduation rates, job training, and vocational tech opportunities

Alaska’s role as the gateway of the Arctic


Wes Madden 2014 Ad #2 Fairbanks


Madden Real Estate

WEIO 2014
Stanley Nissan Service

Stanley Nissan service

Fairbanks born candidate for governor, Bill Walker asks, "Is Fairbanks better...