default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Finalists for High School Heisman are identified

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, October 29, 2012 11:17 pm

FAIRBANKS — Eight Interior athletes, from Nenana to Glennallen, were among the 19 competitors named as state finalists for the annual Wendy’s High School Heisman Award.

Eielson, Lathrop and Nenana each had two representatives on the state finalist list, while Monroe Catholic and Glennallen each had one.

Quarterback Gabriel Cunningham and multi-sport standout Christine Angell represent the Lathrop Malemutes as state finalists.

Hanna Brewer and Matthew Tallman were chosen from Eielson, while Karissa Carroll and Jared Miller were named from Nenana.

Monroe Catholic’s Delainey Stokes earned a spot on the state finalist list along with Glennallen’s Kelti Lorence.

The other state finalists are McKenzie Barnett of Kodiak, Jeffery Buchanan of Seward, Jocelyn Cayce of Juneau-Douglas, Blake Klaich of Nikolaevsk, Marina Koonooka of Gambell, Jackson Lehnhart of Juneau-Douglas; Taylor McLaren of Ketchikan, Darrian Parker of Bartlett, Hugh Sturgulewski of Lumen Christie, Tazia Wagner of Metlakatla and Alyson Walker of Ketchikan.

Award winners are judged on more than their athletic prowess. Academics and contributions to the community also are considered.

Two finalists — one boy and once girl — will be named state winners next week. Winners from each state will be judged and 10 boys and 10 girls will be chosen as national finalists.

The Wendy’s High School Heisman winners will be announced during a national television broadcast on ESPN2 the night before the Heisman Trophy is announced.

National champions will be recognized during the Heisman Trophy award presentation the following day.

More about

More about


Bill Walker, candidate for governor, was born in Fairbanks before statehoo...