default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Champions have all sorts of family ties at 77th International Bonspiel

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Sunday, April 8, 2012 11:39 pm | Updated: 1:52 pm, Wed Jan 16, 2013.

FAIRBANKS — There were a lot of family connections among the winners of the 77th International Bonspiel that came to a close Sunday evening at the Fairbanks Curling Club.

First of all, check out the women’s championship rink skipped by Lacy Birklid-Simko who is about to give birth any day now.

She skipped her rink to a perfect record as they posted an 8-0 win against the Kelly Fevette rink in Sunday’s women’s championship match.

On the winning rink were the mother-daughter combo of lead Joanne Hufman and her daughter Kay Hufman played third.

The other member of the women’s championship rink was second Cathy Shuttleworth. Her husband Steve was a member of the men’s championship team, making it one of those rare years when a husband-wife combo were both members of the championship rink.

Curling with Fevette on the second-place team were Adie Callahan, Jessica Johnson of Anchorage and Michelle Crisnoie.

On the men’s side, Greg Persinger defeated his uncle Ken Persinger to win the title completing a 6-0 run through the tournament.

Joining Greg Persinger and Shuttleworth on the men’s championship rink were Jason Ostness and Peter Lundquist.

Kenny Persinger’s rink consisted of longtime curlers Denny Thies, Larry Crouder and Larry Ehnert. The team won the B event and had to play nine games during the four-day dedicated to Roger Moore, another longtime curler and ice maker at the curling club who passed away during the past year.

“We just ran out of gas by the end of the weekend,” Thies said as the awards banquet was about to begin.

The Ryan Binkley rink captured the men’s C event. Curling with Binkley were Wade Binkley, Bobby Wilken and Jon Bradish.

Lionel Carney skipped the men’s D event winners along with third Rolf Meyer second McCoy (first name not available) and lead Jeff Spaleta.

The women’s B event went to the Liz Anderson rink, including Susan McDiarmid, Virginia Nelson and Annie Albrechtt.

California curlers Sarah Walsh and Colleen Buyers combined with Fairbanks junior curlers Kaitlin Fowler and Cora Farrell to win the women’s C event.

More about

More about


Madden Real Estate

Gubernatorial candidate, Bill Walker, is concerned that the state is in a $7 ...

Wes Madden 2014 Ad #2 Fairbanks


Find Yourself

You're ready for something new. New challenges, new places, new adventures. E...

Bill Walker, candidate for governor, was born in Fairbanks before statehood. ...