default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Carroll, Klaich win state Heismans

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, November 5, 2012 11:47 pm | Updated: 11:55 am, Mon Jan 21, 2013.

FAIRBANKS — Karissa Carroll of Fort Yukon, who attends Nenana High School, and Blake Klaich of Nikolaevsk have been selected as Wendy’s High School Heisman winners from Alaska and they now have a chance to gain national honors.

State winners are chosen on their hard work, dedication and exceptional records in athletics, academics and community leadership.

“Colleges want well-rounded students and with admissions growing more selective, a national award like the Wendy’s High School Heisman can really help students stand out,” Wendy’s spokesman Archie Griffin, a two-time collegiate Heisman Trophy winner, said in a press release.

“Karissa and Blake are inspirations to others in their school and community, and we’re honored to welcome them into the Heisman family.”

Carroll and Klaich were chosen from among 19 Alaska state finalists.

Others who were up for the state award include: Alyson Walker of Ketchikan; Tazia Wagner of Metlakatla; Jocelyn Cayce of Juneau-Douglas; Delainey Stokes of Monroe Catholic; Kelti Lorence of

Glennallen; Christine Angell of Lathrop; McKenzie Barnett of Kodiak; Hanna Brewer of Eielson; Marina Koonooka of Gambell; Jeffery Buchanan of Seward; Darrian Parker of Bartlett; Gabriel Cunningham of Lathrop; Jackson Lehnhart of Juneau-Douglas; Taylor McLaren of Ketchikan; Hugh Sturgulewski of Lumen Christi; Matthew Tallman of Eielson and Jared Miller of Nenana

Carroll and Klaich will compete against other state winners from across the country for a chance to be named one of 12 national finalists in Wendy’s search for the top scholar-athletes.

National winners will be named on Dec. 7 during a televised ceremony on ESPN networks. Each national finalists receives a gold medals and $2,000 for their schools.

The two national winners receive crystal Wendy’s High School Heisman trophies, a $500 Wendy’s gift card and $10,000 for their school. The national winners will be recognized during the collegiate Heisman Trophy broadcast on Dec. 8 on ESPN2.

More about

More about


Wes Madden 2014 Ad #2 Fairbanks


Gubernatorial candidate, Bill Walker, is concerned that the state is in a $7 ...

Find Yourself

You're ready for something new. New challenges, new places, new adventures. E...

Stanley Nissan Service

Stanley Nissan service

Blue Loon - Papa Roach Live 2014 (Rev)

Blue Loon - Papa Roach Live 2014 (Revised)Fairbanks, AlaskaFriday, July 11th ...